Louise B. Raggio Award and Ma’at Justice Award

This award for ongoing contributions was established in 1995 to recognize and celebrate attorneys and associations of attorneys who further justice in our society. It traditionally has been given to an attorney who actively addresses the needs and issues affecting women in the legal profession and in the community.

The award originally was named the Ma’at Justice Award. Ma’at, the Egyptian goddess of justice, symbolizes truth, order, righteousness, and the emergence of order out of chaos.

It was renamed the Louise B. Raggio Award to honor an active section member who was a “first” in many legal areas. Louise Raggio‘s trailblazing achievements included the following: (1) overseeing the creation of the Texas Family Code, (2) serving as the first female assistant district attorney in her area; and (3) serving as the first emeritus member of the section’s council. Although Ms. Raggio declined the section’s request to name an award after her during her lifetime, her family granted such permission following her death in 2011 at the age of 92.

Louise B. Raggio Award Recipients
2022 Renee Yanta
2021 Kathryn Snapka of Corpus Christi
2020 Not awarded
2019 Hon. Diane DeVasto of Tyler
2018 Lynne Liberato of Houston
2017 Marcy Hogan Greer of Austin
2016 Alyse Ferguson of McKinney
2015 Kathleen Wu of Dallas
2014 Robin Russell of Houston
2013 Human Rights Initiative of North Texas, Inc. of Dallas
Ma’at Justice Award Recipients
2012 Anne Chandler of Houston
2011 Deborah Fitzgerald-Fowler of Austin
2010 Alicia Key of Buda
2009 Hon. Migdalia Lopez of Brownsville
2008 Debra Tsuchiyama Baker of Houston
2007 Ileta Sumner of San Antonio
2006 Sheila Enid Cheaney of Austin
2005 Ronnie E.G. Harrison of Houston
2004 Beverly Tarpley of Odessa
2003 Carolyn F. Moore of Lubock
2002 Hon. Deborah Hankinson
2001 Paula W. Hinton of Houston
2000 Iris Hefter Robinson of Houston
1999 Collyn Peddie of Houston
1998 Ana Mejia-Dietche of Austin
1997 Ralph H. Brock of Lubbock
1996 Nancye Bethurem of Dallas
1995 Jonita Borchardt of Denton