Sarah T. Hughes Women Lawyers of Achievement Award

This lifetime achievement award, established in memory of Judge Sarah T. Hughes in 1992, honors the accomplishments of women attorneys who have done the following:
(i) achieved outstanding recognition in their professional areas
(ii) in so doing, paved the way for other women attorneys’ successes.

The section aims to select a candidate who satisfies one or more of the following criteria:

  1. has achieved excellence in her field,
  2. has influenced other women to pursue legal careers,
  3. has opened doors for women attorneys in a variety of job settings that historically have been closed to women,
  4. has advanced opportunities for women within one or more practice areas or segments of the legal profession, and
  5. has otherwise served her industry or her community in a manner that has benefited the legal profession.
Sarah T. Hughes Women Lawyers of Achievement Award Recipients
2022 Ann Ryan Robertson
2021 Hilda C. Galvan
2020 Not awarded
2019 Adrienne Braumiller
2018 Hon. Elizabeth (Peach) Ray
2017 Hon. Hilda G. Tagle
2016 Jan Woodward Fox
2015 Carol Dinkins
2014 Justice Eva M. Guzman
2013 Nancy F. Atlas
2012 Patricia Diaz Dennis
2011 Mary Korby
2010 Linda Reyna Yanez
2009 Jeanne C. “Cezy” Collins
2008 Janette Johnson
2007 U.S. Magistrate Judge Judith K. Guthrie
2006 Judge Barbara Lynn
2005 Pauline Higgins
2004 Charley Farris
2003 Justice Alma L. Lopez
2002 Susan Horton
2001 Justice Barbara Rosenberg
2000 Justice Ann McClure
1999 Evelyn H. Bierry
1998 Gaynelle Griffin Jones
1997 Justice Shirley W. Butts
1996 Frances “Sissy” Farenthold
1995 Barbara Jordan
1994 Dean Barbara Aldave
1993 Louise B. Raggio & Harriet Miers