## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE WOMEN AND THE LAW SECTION OF THE STATE BAR OF TEXAS JUNE 12, 2003, IN HOUSTON, TEXAS

Judy L. Ney of Houston, Chair-Elect, convened the annual meting of the Section, welcoming members and guests, which totaled about 50 people. She complimented the work of Jennifer Rustay in getting contributions for the meeting's expenses and refreshments. She asked attendees to read the names of sponsors that were listed on a large poster board.

Ms. Ney explained the absence of several officers. Misty Ventura, Chair, was not present at the meeting because she was giving birth to her first child. Teresa Oxford, Vice-chair/membership, was in trial.

Ms. Ney introduced Amy Wright, Executive Director of Women's Advocacy Project, explaining that the Project, nominated by the Section, had just been named winner of the 2003 Pro Bono Award from the State Bar's Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee. Ms. Wright thanked the Section for the nomination as well as for all the money donated to the Project by the Section for many years.

Ms. Ney stated that Ms. Harrison, with the help of Leo Ney, were involved in additional fund raising for the Women's Advocacy Project during the State Bar's Annual Meeting in Houston. She said that anyone who visited the vendor's area should stop by the Women and the Law Section's booth to purchase a book bag for \$20.00, which could be filled with ten books to be selected by the purchaser from the books in the booth.

Deborah Ingraham moved, with a second from Jennifer Rustay, that the minutes of the April 30, 2003 teleconference meeting of the Section, which had been e-mailed to officers and council members, be approved. The motion carried.

Louise Raggio moved, with a second from Deborah Ingraham, that the election of officers and council members for the 2003-2004 year be by voice vote, rather than by written ballot. The motion carried.

Ms. Ney stated that the Nominating Committee submitted the following nominations for officers and council members:

Teresa Oxford of San Antonio, Chair-elect D'Metria Benson of Dallas, Vice-chair/Membership Lisa Smith of San Antonio, Vic-chair/Newsletter Mara Blatt of El Paso, Secretary Lisa Hernandez of Plano, Treasurer Suzanne Duvall of Dallas, Chronologist Georgina Benavides of McAllen, with a term through 2005 Kathy Cannon of Austin, with a term through 2005 Ronnie Harrison of Houston, with a term through 2005 Carolyn F. Moore of Lubbock, with a term through 2005 Carmen Samaniego of San Antonio, with a term through 2005

Ms. Ney stated that Misty Ventura, Chair, would assume the position of Immediate Past Chair and that Ms. Ney, having been elected Chair-elect at last year's annual meeting, would assume the position of Chair upon election of new officers. She stated that Louise B. Raggio of Dallas, Emeritus Voting Member, previously elected, does not have to be re-elected each year. In addition, Ms. Ney, announced that the following people had previously been elected as council members for a term to end at the end of the State Bar Year in 2004:

Ralph H. Brock of Lubbock Avo Stevens Butler of Sherman Jennifer Rustay of Houston Sherry Wetsch

Jennifer Rustay moved, with a second from Deborah Ingraham, that the slate of officers and council members as submitted by the Nominations Committee be unanimously approved. The motion carried.

Jennifer Rustay announced that Carolyn F. Moore had been named the winner of the Ma'at Justice Award. Ms. Moore accepted the award, thanking the Section.

Jennifer Rustay announced that the Honorable Alma L.Lopez, Chief Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals in San Antonio, was the winner of the Sarah T. Hughes Award. Chief Justice Lopez accepted the award, thanking the women lawyers in San Antonio who nominated her as well as the Section for selecting her to receive the award.

The business meeting adjourned at 3:30 P.M. After a short break, Ms. Ney introduced Nancy Rapoport, Dean of the University of Houston Law Center, who spoke on "Images of Women Lawyers in the Media." At the end of the presentation, Ms. Ney presented Dean Rapoport with an autographed copy of Louise Raggio's book, **Texas Tornado: The Autobiography of a Crusader for Women's Rights and Family Justice.** 

Respectfully Submitted,

(Original signature on file)

Carolyn F. Moore Secretary at meeting

June 25, 2003