Minutes of Annual Meeting of Women and the Law Section State Bar of Texas June 27, 2014 Austin Convention Center

Melissa Dorman, Chair, called the annual meeting of the Women and the Law Section to order at 10:30 A.M. She welcomed members and guests. She gave special tribute to Ralph H. Brock, longtime member of the Section, who died on July 13, 2014 which was a short time after the Section's annual meeting in 2014.

Ms. Dorman reminded attendees that the Section was co-sponsor of 2 CLE's at the annual meeting:

Broadening Success, What Corporate America Really Expects (Women and the Law Section, African-American Lawyers Section, Asian pacific Interest Section, Hispanic Issues Section, LGBT Section, and Native American Law Section); and

The Affordable Care Act: Perspectives From Across the Bar (Women and the Law Section and Health Law Section).

Ms. Dorman presented Section Awards:

Texas Supreme Court Justice Eva Guzman received the Sarah T. Hughes Award. Robin Russell, with Andrews Kurth, LLP. of Houston, received the Louise B. Raggio Award. Andrea Johnson received the Barbara Culver Clack Award.

All three women graciously accepted their awards and each spoke lovingly of having had a wonderful mother who taught them the need to help others. Justice Guzman said that her mother taught her that life would have its ups and down but that each person has a responsibility to help others. Ms. Russell spoke about the need for women to mentor other women and she introduced her mentor, Linda Dole. Ms. Johnson said that life has a purpose and that the Section had given her a purpose of service to others.

Upon motion and second, the minutes of the teleconference meeting of Mary 22, 2014 were approved.

Upon motion and second, the treasurer's report was approved.

Upon motion and second, the slate of officers and council members for the coming year was approved.

Nora Bryant, having become Chair of the Section, said that she is looking forward to an active and productive year, stating she will circulate meeting dates very soon.

The Officers and Council members for 2014-2015 are:

Chair	Nora Bryant
Chair-Elect	Chelsie Garza
Treasurer	Judy L. Ney
Membership	Stephanie Gonzalez
Newsletter/Website	Angela Webster
Secretary	Carolyn F. Moore
Chronologist	Deborah Cordova
Awards	Ronnie Harrison
Immediate Past Chair	Melissa Dorman
Council (term expires	
2015)	

2015)	Deborah Race
	Carmen Samaniego
	Paula Whitten-Doolin
Council (term expires	
2016)	Nikki Allen
	Briana Parramore
	Annie McAdams
	JoAl Cannon Sheridan
	Elizabeth Kreisler

The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 A.M.

Respectfully submitted.

Carolyn J. moore

Carolyn F. Moore Secretary September 8, 2014