Minutes of May 14, 2015 Teleconference of Women and the Law Section of the State Bar of Texas

Having determined a quorum was present, Nora Bryant, Chair, called the teleconference to order at 4:35 P.M. on May 14, 2015. Along with Nora Bryant, the following women were on the teleconference: Angela Webster, Annie McAdams, Carmen Samaniego, Carolyn F. Moore, Chelsie Garza, Deborah Cordova, Deborah Race, Elizabeth von Kreisler, Judy L. Ney, Ronnie Harrison, and Stephanie Gonzalez.

Approval of Minutes

Upon motion by Carolyn F. Moore and a second by Judy L. Ney, the minutes of the March 26, 2014 teleconference were approved. Those minutes were prepared by Chelsie Garza as Carolyn F. Moore was not able to attend the teleconference.

Treasurer's Report

Judy Ney, treasurer, reported that as of the end of March, 2015, the section has \$24,715.62. She said she will meet with the Section's incoming treasurer so there will be a smooth transition of the treasurer's position for the coming year.

Comment Reports

Membership Report

Stephanie Gonzales said our membership is 843 members, commenting that 327 are new members.

Newsletter/Website

Angie Webster said that the next newsletter should go out in early October, 2015, soon after the birth of her baby who is due in October. She said that she hopes to have pictures and articles about the Section's award winners in the newsletter.

Section council and officers agreed that the most recent newsletter was very good.

Chronology

Deborah Cordova said she has been talking with staff in the State Bar's Archives Department to determine what information that department has about the Section. She expects a written report from staff by May 15, 2015.

New Business

Slate for 2015-2016 Year

After a motion by Carolyn F. Moore, with a second by Angie Webster, the following slate of officers and council members was approved:

1. Officer positions:

Chelsie Garza, Chair

Annie McAdams, Chair-elect

Paula Whitten-Doolin, Treasurer

Stephanie Gonzalez, Membership

Angie Webster, Newsletter/Website

Carolyn F. Moore, Secretary

Deborah Cordova, Chronologist

Judy L. Ney, Awards

Nora Bryan, Immediate Past Chair (this is an automatic position, not to be voted on)

2. Council Members

Nikki Allen

Deborah Race

JoAl Cannon Sheridan

Elizabeth Von Kreisler

Kirby Drake

Angela Hough

Meagan Hassan

Gabrielle Taglienti

AWARDS

Ronnie Harrison, chair of the committee, said that she and committee members Judy L. Ney, Carolyn F. Moore, and Nora Bryant reviewed many excellent letters of nominations prior to deliberating and proposing that Carol Dinkins receive the Sarah T. Hughes award and that Kathleen Wu receive the Louise B. Raggio award. On motion by Deborah Cordova, and second by Deborah Race, the committee's proposal was approved.

UPDATE ON STATE BAR ANNUAL MEETING

The State Bar Annual Meeting will be in San Antonio, June 18-19-2015. Our Section's reception will be on Thursday, June 18, 2015 from 5:30 P.M. until 7:00 P.M. Our Section's annual meeting will be on

Friday, June 19, 2015 beginning at 10:30 A.M. and will include a CLE to be presented by a panel (for which we will send information via LinkedIn) and presentation of awards.

UPCOMING MEETING DATES:

Chelsie Garza said that she plans our meetings for next year as follows:

September 19, 2015 in Houston

Thursday, November 12, 2015, a teleconference

January 23, 2016 in Austin

Thursday, March 10, 2016, a teleconference

Thursday, May 19, 2016, a teleconference.

Upon motion by Judy L. Ney, with a second by Carolyn F. Moore, the meeting adjourned at 5:05 P.M.

Respectfully submitted this 26th day of May, 2015.

Carolyn & Moore

Carolyn F. Moore

Secretary